The possibilities are endless

So… college, amirite?

I’m currently in the process of applying for graduate school. One of the applications is due tomorrow (and it is done and I feel great). But now I’m thinking of the possibilities in a different way and thinking of the fact that I don’t HAVE to attend a brick and mortar school.

My projected field of study is Library Science. Yes. I get it. I’m not a quiet person. I’m not the traditional stereotype of a librarian. I’ve heard it all before, and it makes me angry. Just because I don’t fit a specific stereotype, does not mean I can’t do the job or that I wouldn’t be good at it/like doing it.

Then, all of a sudden, today it was brought to my mind that I could attend grad school online. The American Library Association has a list of schools accredited by them (which is important because libraries want employees that went to an ALA-accredited school/program) including a long list of schools which offer 100% online degrees (including schools like Florida State University, Wayne State University, Kent State University, St. John’s University, and a bunch more). There is also a school with satellite schools that offers mostly online degrees with 2 weekends a semester of face-to-face classes.

I got supremely excited at the prospect. I could get my Master’s degree and live wherever I wanted to live, whether that was back in North Dakota with my parents, in Minnesota with my family of friends, or somewhere completely different. Then, I started thinking… I could get a job and stay in Morris for a year while starting my degree, then move to Minneapolis with my friends. I started looking around at job possibilities in Minnesota and found a job at UMM’s library as a Circulation and Technology Support Manager. I checked out the requirements, all of which I will have at the end of the semester (only one I’d be waiting on is my Bachelor’s degree). The job is full-time paying almost $20/hour (or approximately $41,000/year).

Another possibility would be doing my degree online and asking for a promotion at the gas station back home. The store I work at needs an Assistant Manager and I have the experience to do it. I could hang out with my parents for a while, get a place of my own, and go to school at the same time. Or I could do my degree online and going to North Carolina and hanging out with family down there. Heck, I could even do my degree and bum around the country for a while, if I really wanted to!

Either way, there is a possibility with some of the schools’ schedules, that I may be taking a semester off (the school with the satellite campuses only admits for spring semester).

The possibilities are endless… and that excites me.

One thought on “The possibilities are endless

  1. Bethany, this is AWESOME!!! It’s amazing how the world has suddenly opened up. I’m looking forward to seeing where you choose to go next! (And screw stereotypes… you’re going to be a FABULOUS librarian!)

Leave a comment